a song for liliana

the distance between my lips and your cheek,
your funny acerbic mouth
has never seemed quite so great a chasm
as when i stood shivering over you this morning,
my heart in my throat, every cell of me aching
with the need to kiss you awake
and you rolled over and threw up your arms
as if shielding yourself.

i know you had no idea what was happening,
but it warded me off just the same and so
i ran on tiptoe back to my desk, sat down
and wrote you this poem instead.

i’m pretty sure you’re never going to see it.

Leave a Reply

