elsewhere

sweetest:
lower your head to my knees,
that i may lay my hand across your cheek
and with a curl of my fingers draw the pain through your temples
to wash away in steaming showers;

rest your face in the cradle of my palms
that they might form pillars,
preventing the weariness of your daily ponderings
from weighting your chin to your chest–

sweetest,
come close to me.
give me your aching– give me your pangs,
your persistent nightmares to dispel
with the press of my lips to your forehead.

fret no more, unchild–
i’ll take it all away.

Leave a Reply

