me along

one hand in front of the other
i move on tiptoe through the dawn,
barefoot and sinking into cold mud
and guided by gilded morning-frost thread
toward forever and always;

(there are trailing white ribbons tied to my ankles)

and the breeze caressing my cheek
is rife with promise and pretenses
silvered by hope–
i close my eyes as it lifts my hair
and sigh into the lover’s lips
of light upon my skin.

(shimmering wire embraces my wrists)

somewhere ahead of me are signs
that hiss perjury and precarious promontories
cast off silver tongues that gleam
with the molten mercury of kisses yet to be spilled,

(upon my head rests a circlet:)

but i’ll fall if that’s where you’re taking me,
because I want to know where this ends.

(i am your prince–)

one hand in front of the other
i move on tiptoe through your dawn,
premier danseur en pointe along the barre
and dancing toward oblivion in the shape of you.

(fold me in woven silk subterfuge and take me to my throne.)

Leave a Reply

