shh. listen.

open wide.
i want to trace your leaf patterns,
thrust your secrets high to the light of the sun
that I might prove its heat is no match for your own.

you want abuse? let me be the one to deliver.
give me your knife and I’ll rake its serrations along the liplines
you’ve written into yourself,
whisper all the lyrics you will not sing
to the shell of your ear–
would you cut it open for me,
your gilded lily,
your lotus pond,
your precious flower?

come on, darling.
you want this.
open wide, close your eyes ,
say you’ll learn to love me–

but i know you already do.

Leave a Reply

