word to the wise

today my mother talked to /lectured me on sacrifice–
that is to say, she gave a detailed list to me
of sacrifices she had made for myself that I had heard already
so as to make me malleable enough to demand a sacrifice from myself–

well, now.

tonight i got my blue glass plate which i allow no one to use;
i made her tuna sandwiches– two, though i hate even numbers
(and tuna as well);
i made them with bread that i’d wanted to eat, too.

i put the tuna sandwiches i hated on the plate that i loved,
left it on the counter for her to have after her bath

and i went to bed with my hands spiced
with tuna brine smells that i hated

and that was my sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

