amber

bring me to another day, ambrosia;
lift me, golden drops in crystal chalices
held between my limp fingers after the fight is over–

broken gasps and beads of sweat my crowning glory
as I swim among the mammoth pink disgusting elephants
trotting one-two toward sweet escape;

floating on nothing/drifting alone,
blinded and comforted by amber in my glass
burning a trail down my throat to where I need it most.

and all the horrid sickness of my slow euthanasia
commemorated in prayers to porcelain founts
before I reach for another smoky bottle to begin the trip again

Leave a Reply

