my mother says cell phones open up whole new avenues for rudeness

(call me)

overly ambitious,
longing to be not merely the
-ship but the full ocean
with arms wide outstretched,
as if i could hold all the world
if i pleased

(i would want to)

call me overreaching
wanting both to drown
and be drowned
to be the prostrate lover choking up water
and the bent savior bestowing kisses of life; call me

silly
needing to be your rock
in the same stormy seas i wish to become,
and the barnacle clinging with infinite tenacity
to your ribs
for the sake of your heartbeat as a lullaby;

call me insane for desire,
call me a lost cause,

call me

(i swear i’ll answer the phone this time)

Leave a Reply

