my throat is raw from never speaking my heart

i’m closing your scent inside this box
and pushing it beneath my cousin’s bed
so haphazard clothing and old candy wrappers
some unfinished homework, half a sandwich
and a few roach motels can collect
over weeks and months
till the next time my cousin cleans her room
(whatever millenium that’ll be in)
and brings me the box with a questioning look
and i take it from her in cryptic silence
carry it to another dark place
eye it briefly and then
shove it away a second time and forget
that i was going to say i loved you
until you told me the reason you weren’t answering my calls
was because you were with him.

Leave a Reply

