glow in the dark bracelet, or: ash, vanishing

a glow in the dark bracelet
over my eyes blurs into neon stars
while my other hand disappears
again and again
reminding me of you and what it should be
how i should be like new wood awaiting the tooth chisel
deep earth for knuckle plows, a heady sea
to be coaxed over dams

glow in the dark bracelet against my eyes
reminds me that yours are so cold that they burn
and it hurts to be looked at if it’s you,
but the agony that seizes when you turn your head,
that’s incomparable.

don’t turn your head. don’t look at her.
i’d rather be petrified in this bed and amber-glossed,
glow in the dark bracelet dimly winking
at the bars of whatever cage you had put me into,
than facing the back of your skull.

i might crush it.

this glow in the dark bracelet is losing its light
and i am drunk with sleep. you are not looking
at me, and i feel it. i hate you. this bracelet is my talisman

but there is no protection against what i want,
and there never has been
and so my hand disappears again and again
beneath my blanket, and i writhe
and i moan
and i arch into empty space,
waiting for you to deliver me.

Leave a Reply

