because mpreg is always in

for a moment washing the dishes
i wished my father could absorb me
become saturated briefly with me and then
i would sink down into his belly, i wished
my father could be pregnant with me–

my fault lines and precious flaws, my half-assed dreams
and drugs and uncarved stone potential
i wish he felt the blows from my fury
against the lining of his stomach, that he throbbed
with the vibrant red pulse of my hurts,
that he became sick in the mornings
because i’m a night owl–

i wish my father could be pregnant with me
so that i could know him, and he understand me
and my mother wouldn’t feel so alone and so angry
at the burden of raising me

Leave a Reply

