rage

for over an hour after you left
or five minutes, or a second or
a year i lay in the corner
my skirt pushed up, my hair wild
and throat throbbing
from tears and the memory of your thumb
(my poor windpipe)
& loud music between my ears
as i curled between the wall and the bed
cradled me, a fitful baby half-asleep
and fully maddened

i contemplated the mechanics of asphyxiation–
whether i could have suppressed my need to live
(to know you) if you had choked me a while longer,
whether i would have stopped fighting

i imagined the rush i might get
from slapping the shit out of you, and
how you’d bruise me if you slapped back

and i lay there with one arm falling asleep
in the dark, my hair, some snot and furious fantasies
waiting for you to come back
and fuck me.

(next day)
you didn’t.

Leave a Reply

